Our KochCup Project Awards Winning Recipes!

After months of local and regional cooking competitions between young chefs, on 11 March 2024 our KochCup project awarded the three winning recipes at the competition’s final in Berlin, Germany. The criteria for the winning dishes were clear: on top of providing an unforgettable culinary experience they had to be seasonal, regional, and resource-efficient. Moreover, through their dishes young chefs aimed at sparking inspiration toward healthier and more sustainable food in the realm of sports and beyond.

The 12 healthiest, tastiest and most environmentally-friendly dishes prevailed in four regional competitions and qualified for the final. The three winning recipes reflected the philosophy of the competition on the plate. Lucie Fischer Chapalain won the first prize for her dish “From earth to plate”, followed by Leon Girrbach with the recipe “Pumpkin meets leek” (second place), and Jens Kleinfelder with the dish “Buckwheat falafel with hummus and kale salad” (third place).

The professional jury of the final competition consisted of star chef, Stephan Hentschel, Nicolas Barthelmé from “Du bist hier der Chef”, Andrea Lenkert-Hörrmann from SlowFood, chef Jascha Siekmann from the VKD Plant Based Project, and vocational school teachers, Kristin Knauth and Steffen Rosenthal.

The three winners received a masterclass with star chef Stephan Hentschel to fine tune their recipes and advance their cooking techniques.

In addition to professional jury prizes, the KochCup Community had the chance to vote for their favourite KochCup recipe in an online voting process. Janis Keßler won the audience prize for his dish “From fields of the West Palatinate”. You can find a first selection of KochCup recipes and additional information about the project on the project website.

The KochCup project is implemented by a consortium consisting of the CSCP and the agency for sustainable communication tippingpoints. The project is funded by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety, and Consumer Protection (BMUV).

For further questions, please contact Jennifer Wiegard.